TMDHosting Review

How TMD made it to the top of the UK web hosting companies chart? Tl;DR

As you already know, we only list reputable companies with the best hardware that will make your projects run smoothly. What makes the difference is how serious a company takes the support and security.

TMDHosting-new-logo-Black-500px
UPTIME
 
995
SPEED
 
998
SUPPORT
 
977
PRICE
 
982
FEATURES
 
972
GREEN
 
970
INNOVATIVE
 
989

At TMDHosting they take both at heart. You can ask anything in the ticket system that gets answered in 15 minutes on average, the support is in-house sysadmin staff that is there 24/7 even on holidays. They have a backup schedule that stores on a remote location all your files at least once a week. The ping to London from the Amsterdam located data center is only 8.5ms. You get a CPanel and Softaculou so you can deploy your project in 30 seconds. And on top of that, they have a 60 days money back policy so you can test the service safely. Give it a try at www.tmdhosting.com and let us know what you think.

Overview

TMD hosting is established in 2007 with 4 employees and for 7 yrs they grow to more than 70 employees and around 70 000 hosted websites. This steady growth is one of the indicators of a quality in a hosting service.

The company has been established in Orlando, FL but they have expanded and now have colocated top level hardware in 4 data centers, one of which is in Amsterdam and has a fast response time to the UK and as we know, location of your project matters both SEO and UX wise.

The hosting is scalable and you can start small and if you projects grow over time, the guys at TMD hosting have the power to get you on a better machine. They offer different plans like shared web hosting, reseller web hosting, dedicated server hosting, e-commerce hosting.

Technology

The uptime for the last calendar year is 99.9996% and here is a ping probe from one of our Amsterdam-based servers towards a GTMetrix test IP address, based in London:

root@node01 [~]# ping -c10 217.27.250.160
PING 217.27.250.160 (217.27.250.160) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 217.27.250.160: icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=8.53 ms
64 bytes from 217.27.250.160: icmp_seq=2 ttl=56 time=8.45 ms
64 bytes from 217.27.250.160: icmp_seq=3 ttl=56 time=8.48 ms
64 bytes from 217.27.250.160: icmp_seq=4 ttl=56 time=8.44 ms
64 bytes from 217.27.250.160: icmp_seq=5 ttl=56 time=8.49 ms

They use top-level hardware with SSD drives that get changed a few times a year and the servers are super fast. You can test it by installing a Wordpress or Joomla and get it up and running in 30 seconds (including the clicks.)

You get a CPanel so you get all the tools necessary to migrate your project to the server in no time. With Softaculou at your disposal, you can install your favorite app and get it running in 30 seconds.

Support

The good things about TMD support are that you get free migration of your existing project. The support staff is experienced, in-house, located in Europe and with the ticket system you get your issues resolved in 15 min average (in our case, both tickets we posted while testing, were answered in 7 min)

What we like about TMDhosting is their attitude to the support, here is what they have answered when we asked them about it:

"We do not outsource a single position outside of our premises. Delivering greater quality at each level of service - infrastructure, customer service and technical support - requires a lot of people working like one. This rarely happens with outsourced positions and we never sacrifice quality over expenditure. We have customer service, technical support and system administrators available 24/7, even on holidays.

Requests are initially served within 15 minutes and we strive delivering resolution as quick as possible, averaging at approximately 20 minutes after initial response. It highly depends on the request, though, but most are being responded within the first 15 minutes after their submission. More complicated ones take 20 to 30 minutes tops and if something is really hard, it might take up to an hour, but that’s quite rare."

The downside is there is no UK phone number for support and we couldn't find a live chat option on the user area (there is live chat in the home page, so if you have an urgent issue, you might try them, they were helpful when we were testing the service).

Also, the Tutorials section on the site is outdated. But that gets compensated with the free migration and the fast support. So remember - if you got any questions - post a support ticket.

Data Security

One of the most important points in rating the web hosting companies we list on top5hosting is how seriously they take data security and how safe is your data with them. The data center in Amsterdam where the servers are colocated has military grade security. Here is what they said when we asked them about how they handle the data in the company:

"We are taking data security very seriously and have a strict backup schedule across all our platforms (shared, reseller, VPS/Cloud, dedicated) - we take files/folders snapshots at least once a week, while we are doing copies of MySQL and other DB related content on a daily basis, retaining them for up to 7 days back.

The process is automated, but our system administrators will check on a daily basis, making sure snapshots are properly taken. All backup copies are stored on a remote location. In our system administrators team, we have people dedicated to monitoring for any possible security threats or patch releases, applicable for the software we use. We react to security threats and apply patches with our "as soon as possible" policy.

We are in tight relationship with all our software vendors, such as CloudLinux and cPanel and it is not rare to apply a patch before it is even announced to the public. We have several contributors to these projects in our team, as well."

Things to remember when sing-up

Keep your sign-up emails safe, the DNS info and the server IP should be there if you are looking for it (since it is not to be found in the user area). If you have any questions, post a support ticket, they are very helpful. And you can test it yourself this way :)

Make sure your project is deployed on the Amsterdam server. If you don't know how, ask the support to move it. (Of course in case you are targeting the UK and not the US or Asia.)

To sum it up

TMDHosting s very well known for providing cutting-edge technologies at an affordable price with great customer support which is free. It is great for people with no or little technical knowledge since they can benefit from it and save time and money on installing applications, modules etc. They also have a 2-month money back policy, so we recommend that you test TMDHosting and stay with them if you like the service.

VISIT tmdhosting logo AND GET OUR 50% DISCOUNT

Technical

  • 99.9% Uptime Guarantee
  • Free Setup; Transfer
  • Unlimited Traffic, Emails, DBs
  • Free Weekly Backup
  • cPanel
  • Free CloudFlare CDN
  • Best website performance with SuperCacher
  • Auto installer For Easy Start
  • New fast servers with great performance
  • The closest data center is in Amsterdam

Support

  • 24/7 Technical Support
  • Free Setup; Transfer
  • 24/7 European support
  • SysAdmins to care of your tickets in 15 minutes
  • They provide expert application support apart from hosting (WordPress, Joomla, Magento)
  • No UK phone number for support
  • No live chat in user area

Pricing

  • Flexible plans
  • Can be purchased monthly
  • Starts from 1.75 £/mo.
  • 60 Days Money Back
  • We didn't find any

Backend Review

Here, we provide you some pictures of the TMD hosting backend (cPanel) so you can get a better idea about the intuitive user area you get once you sign up.

Web Host Performance

tmdhosting Test Results

Pingdom test for speed performance from their Amsterdam server.

As you can see, the default WordPress install that we made for the test, without any cache plugins or speed adjustments ran 85% faster than all the tested websites.

The loading time of the website was 1.29s.

tmdhosting Test Results

A stress test from LoadImpact helps determine the capability of handling a certain amount of users (load) on your website. The goal is to see how your website will perform when subjected to both an expected and stressful amount of load.

Even with 25 users browsing through our website from Brazil location, the load time is 2s on average.

Those are some very good indications.

You can also check the other Top UK web hosting companies, reviews and comparison here.

Last modified onThursday, 17 March 2016 07:58
Customer ReviewsLeave your review
Average Review Times
  • Performance (8.5/10)
  • Support (8.8/10)
  • Price (9.3/10)
  • Reliability (8.8/10)
  • User Friendly (9.3/10)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Tech Support is very thorough
  · 1 years ago.
  • 10/10
    Performance
  • 10/10
    Support
  • 10/10
    Price
  • 10/10
    Reliability
  • 10/10
    User Friendly
Just a feedback email to let you know you are guys are doing it right. I am also working with another client on his own account with TMDHosting and the support over email and chat has been excellent. Thank you very much for giving us a reliable service so we may proceed with our work.
Was this review helpful to you?
Leave your review
  • Performance
    10
  • Support
    10
  • Price
    10
  • Reliability
    10
  • User Friendly
    10
Steve Kowal

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

GoDaddy Web Hosting